Top 5 Post

Related Posts

Importance of Nakshatras in Horoscope Reading in Vedic Astrology

Whenever we talk to an astrologer on phone, we ask questions about our zodiac sign, ascendant, Mahadasha, yoga in Kundali, and so on. But, how many of us talk about stars? Hardly a few, right? Most of us remain busy listening to the qualities of our zodiac signs, our natural traits, and the lordship of our zodiac sign or ascendant. However, stars aka nakshatras hold a significant position in Vedic Astrology.  Nakshatras are considered the lunar mansion for planets. How a planet impacts our life counts on the nakshatra along with the house/sign it is placed in

So, with less ado, let us find the importance of Nakshatras in Vedic Astrology and how they impact our lives deeply.

Know the Names of Nakshatra First

There are 27 nakshatras in astrology including Ashwini, Bharani, Krittika, Rohini, Mrigashirsha, Adra, Punarvasu, Pushya, Ashlesha, Magha, Purva Phalguni, Uttara Phalguni, Hasta, Chitra, Swati, Vishakha, Anuradha, Jyeshtha, Moola, Purva Ashada, Uttara Ashadha, Shravana, Dhanishta, Shatabhisha, Purva Bhadrapada, Uttara Bhadrapada, and Revati.

Learn More About Nakshatras in Vedic Astrology

Throughout the journey of 12 zodiac signs, the Moon travels through 27 nakshatras. Each Nakshatra extends to 13 degrees and 20 minutes. Each nakshatra is governed by a deity and contains a symbol and different characteristics. So, it is time to know how Nakshatra influences your life in many ways. We will start with the Nakshatra deities.

  1. Nakshatra Deity: Each nakshatra has a ruling deity. The deity controls the qualities and traits of that Nakshatra. For example, the ruling deity of Ashlesha nakshatra is the Nagas.
  2. Symbol of Nakshatra: Each nakshatra has its own symbol. It represents its characteristics and qualities. For example, the symbol of Krittika Nakshatra is a Knife and it indicates sharpness.
  3. Characteristics of Nakshatra: 27 nakshatras have 27 unique characteristics, and these characteristics are reflected in the natives. Moon nakshatra offers the prominent effects always.
  4. Time Calculation: In Vedic Astrology and Hindu religion, nakshatras are taken to decide the timing for auspicious and inauspicious events including weddings, housewarming, starting a new job/business, buying a new home/property, and so on. Navatara chakra calculation does wonders for deciding good or bad timings.
  5. Nakshatra Padas: Each nakshatra is grouped into four padas or quarters. The four padas of the nakshatras impact the characteristics of the nakshatras as well in a deeper sense.
  6. Nakshatra Mahadasha: The nakshatra where your Moon is placed impacts your life in a broad spectrum. Other planets also get impacted by their ruling nakshatras. However, Moon Nakshatra decides our planetary cycle or Mahadashas.
  7. Nakshatra Remedies: Counting on the good and bad effects of the nakshatras, natives are advised to perform Vedic rituals or wear gemstones to nullify negative impacts or accelerate the positive outcomes.

There are more we can decipher by reading the nakshatras of the planets. From marriage compatibility checking to birth dasha indication, Varna identification to dosha nivaran, deciding effects of planetary transit to delivering predictions – all are decided through the nakshatra calculation and qualities. So, if you are thinking of having a horoscope reading session, don’t forget to ask

On a Closing Note, 

Nakshatra reading is a complex system in Vedic Astrology. However, if you want to have a deep understanding of your personality, qualities, and pathway, you should check out your birth star aka Moon Nakshatra. Thus, whenever you decide to talk to an astrologer on the phone, you must enquire about your Moon Nakshatra to understand your life purpose with more clarity.

Popular Articles